Lost Brothers

Twenty-six years ago tonight — Jan. 7, 1984 — my older brother died at age 17 from asthma complications. I think the end came for him at 8:20 p.m., though I could be mistaken.

That day a trend began where I would befriend people a few years older than me. A couple of them would become best friends and die prematurely themselves. It was also the day that sparked a lifelong fear of loss.

Before you read further, you should know that this post will have a positive ending. So have no fear. But this story is an important part of my battle with OCD, so here we go:

It’s been so long since Michael was with us that it’s sometimes hard to remember the exact features of his face. But here’s what I do remember:

We fought a lot. One New Year’s Eve about 30 years ago, when the family was out at a restaurant, he said something to piss me off and I picked up the fork beside me and chucked it at him. Various family members have insisted over the years that it was a steak knife, but I’m pretty sure it was a fork. Another time we were in the back of my father’s van and he said something to raise my hackles. I flipped him the middle finger. He reached for the finger and promptly snapped the bone.

We were also both sick much of the time. He had his asthma attacks, which frequently got so bad he would be hospitalized. I had my Chron’s Disease and was often hospitalized myself. It must have been terrible for our parents. I know it was, but had to become a parent myself before I could truly appreciate what they went through.

He lifted weights at a gym down the street from our house that was torn down years ago to make way for new developments. If not for the asthma, he would have been in perfect shape. He certainly had the muscles.

He was going to be a plumber. That’s what he went to school for, anyway. During one of his hospital stays, he got pissed at one of the nurses. He somehow got a hold of some of his plumbing tools and switched the pipes in the bathroom sink so hot water would come out when you selected the cold.

He was always there for a family member in trouble. If I was being bullied, he often came to the rescue.

I miss him, and find it strange that he was just a kid himself when he died. He seemed so much older to me at the time. To a 13-year-old, he was older and wiser.

He was close to a kid who lived two doors down from us named Sean Marley. After he died, I quickly latched on to Sean. We became best friends. In a way, he became a new older brother. Sean died in 1996 and the depression he suffered has been one of the cattle prods — next to my own fight with mental illness — for this blog.

A year after Sean died, I found another, much older brother named Peter Sugarman. He died in 2004 after choking on food.  His death sent me over the cliff with the OCD firing in every direction. That was the year I realized I needed help and started to get it.

I was lucky to have known these guys. They certainly helped shape the person I am today. I am forever thankful for that, because I have a life that’s Blessed far beyond what I probably deserve. I would not have reached this point without their lessons and love. Even in death, they each taught me to see the things that truly matter.

Thanks, guys.

65 thoughts on “Lost Brothers

  1. Pingback: For A Girl Recently Diagnosed With Crohn’s Disease | THE OCD DIARIES

  2. Pingback: OCD Diaries: Revere Revisited | THE OCD DIARIES

  3. Pingback: Have Fun With Your Therapist (A.K.A.: The Shrink Stigma) | THE OCD DIARIES

  4. Pingback: The OCD Diaries: Lessons From Dad | THE OCD DIARIES

  5. Pingback: You’re Missing The Point | THE OCD DIARIES

  6. Pingback: To A Woman Under Attack From Crohn’s Disease | THE OCD DIARIES

  7. Pingback: Is It Bad That Two Family Members Are In Therapy? | THE OCD DIARIES

  8. Pingback: It Changes In A Second | THE OCD DIARIES

  9. Pingback: Get In The Van And Head To The Channel | THE OCD DIARIES

  10. Pingback: Irish Alzheimer’s: Looking For The Cure | THE OCD DIARIES

  11. Pingback: A Vision of Death And Rebirth | THE OCD DIARIES

  12. Pingback: 41 Years | THE OCD DIARIES

  13. Pingback: An Expected Encounter With My Mother | THE OCD DIARIES

  14. Pingback: And The Sea Will Save You | THE OCD DIARIES

  15. Pingback: The Step-Mom « THE OCD DIARIES

  16. Pingback: Back Story Of THE OCD DIARIES « THE OCD DIARIES

  17. Pingback: Lies Of The Not-So-Beautiful People « THE OCD DIARIES

  18. Pingback: Sometimes, Un-Friending Is The Right Thing « THE OCD DIARIES

  19. Pingback: Coffee With My Therapist, Part 2 « THE OCD DIARIES

  20. Pingback: When Hurt No Longer Helps « THE OCD DIARIES

  21. Pingback: Binge, Pray, Disgust « THE OCD DIARIES

  22. Pingback: Facebook Follow Friday: Christmas Eve « THE OCD DIARIES

  23. Pingback: Screwing Your Kids in the Divorce « THE OCD DIARIES

  24. I think all of us who lost someone close at a young age, for myself my father at 11, spend much of our lives trying to fill the hole that will always be there with other things. I’ve succeeded and failed in varying degrees at this effort, and admittedly more the latter than the former, though becoming a father myself has helped a lot.

    I’ve promised myself a million times that Peter’s death won’t define my entire life, but we cannot unmake these things about ourselves that are always at least partly true based on sheer reality and the very nature of human experience.

    When I saw the title of this post I thought it might be about losing touch with living siblings, something I’ve also allowed to happen too much in this life. Thanks for reminding me not to take my own brothers for granted.

    And thanks for sharing as always Bill, as we know it’s always better than burying the difficult feelings under something else.

  25. Pingback: Friends in Crisis « THE OCD DIARIES

  26. Pingback: OK to Live Again? « THE OCD DIARIES

  27. Pingback: Black Rain « THE OCD DIARIES

  28. Pingback: OCD Screening Quiz « THE OCD DIARIES

  29. Pingback: Soundtrack of the Week | THE OCD DIARIES

  30. Pingback: Cut the Drama, Rage Boy | THE OCD DIARIES

  31. Pingback: See a Grown Man Cry | THE OCD DIARIES

  32. Pingback: For A Brother and Sister | THE OCD DIARIES

  33. Pingback: Love Hurts, Love Stings, Love Endures | THE OCD DIARIES

  34. Pingback: Gone Fishing (Sort Of) | THE OCD DIARIES

  35. Pingback: 43 Years Through The Minefield | THE OCD DIARIES

  36. Pingback: Debunking the Shrink Stigma | THE OCD DIARIES

  37. Pingback: Welcome to the Outcast Club | THE OCD DIARIES

  38. Pingback: Zane from the Point of Pines, Revere | THE OCD DIARIES

  39. Pingback: Old Friends | THE OCD DIARIES

  40. Pingback: The C Group of Paul Revere | THE OCD DIARIES

  41. Pingback: A Sister’s Fall and Rise | THE OCD DIARIES

  42. Pingback: 40: The New 20 | THE OCD DIARIES

  43. Pingback: The Anxiety Attack | THE OCD DIARIES

  44. Pingback: Stiffy | THE OCD DIARIES

  45. Pingback: Sometimes, You Gotta Cut Ties | THE OCD DIARIES

  46. Pingback: A Lesson in Anger Management | THE OCD DIARIES

  47. Pingback: The Kid Sister | THE OCD DIARIES

  48. Pingback: The Mommy Problem | THE OCD DIARIES

  49. Pingback: My Revere Attitude | THE OCD DIARIES

  50. Pingback: Time to End This Sentimental Journey? | THE OCD DIARIES

  51. Pingback: The OCD Diaries 5-3: Birthdays of the Dead « THE OCD DIARIES

  52. Pingback: Happy Birthday, My Sweet Boy « THE OCD DIARIES

  53. Pingback: The OCD Diaries 4-2-10: Long-haired Freaks « THE OCD DIARIES

  54. Pingback: Peace at the Scene of the Crime « THE OCD DIARIES

  55. Pingback: Don’t Go Away Mad « THE OCD DIARIES

  56. Pingback: The Ugly, Somewhat Humorous History of Bill Brenner « THE OCD DIARIES

  57. Pingback: Hell Isn’t for Children (But Some Get Stuck There Anyway) « THE OCD DIARIES

  58. Pingback: Friends Who Help You Heal « THE OCD DIARIES

  59. Pingback: The Lasting Impact of Crohn’s Disease « THE OCD DIARIES

  60. Pingback: The Angry Years « THE OCD DIARIES

  61. Pingback: Metal to Stick in Your Mental Microwave « THE OCD DIARIES

  62. Pingback: When Pain Drips from the Mind to the Body « THE OCD DIARIES

  63. Pingback: OCD Diaries: The Basement « THE OCD DIARIES

  64. Pingback: OCD Diary 1-8: Marley and Me « THE OCD DIARIES

Leave a Reply

