Why Being a People Pleaser is Dumb

The author used to try very hard to please everybody and was hurt badly in the process. Here’s how he broke free and kept his soul intact.

I heard from a friend yesterday who has had a rough time of trying to make everyone around her happy. This person is a self-described people pleaser, and being that way has led to a big world of hurt.

I’ve written before about my previous life as a people pleaser, and my friend wanted to know how I got past it and was able to out myself.

Here’s my attempt to answer the question.

Yes, I used to be a people pleaser. I probably still am to some extent. But nothing like how I used to be.

I wanted desperately to make every boss happy, and I did succeed for awhile. But in doing so I damaged myself to the core and came within inches of an emotional breakdown.

It caused me to work 80 hours a week, waking up each morning scared to death that I would fall short or fail altogether.

You know what? No employee ever gets back 100 percent of what they put in from the corporate machine. Sure, you can make your direct bosses happy, but the folks many layers above them in the food chain still won’t know who you are or care that you work 80 hours a week. That doesn’t make them evil. It’s just a reality where it’s impossible to have an intimate understanding of every toil of every employee.

I learned this the hard way at Community Newspaper Company, where the pay was criminally low, and at The Eagle-Tribune, where the pressure on everyone was so intense back then that it was every man and woman for themselves. Some excellent people have worked there, and still do. But we all behave in strange ways when we’re staring down the nose of a gun. I was no different to those below me who wanted to keep me happy with their work efforts. I’m certain I hurt some people along the way.

I wanted to make every family member happy. It didn’t work, because you can never keep everyone happy when strong personalities clash. That’s not a swipe at the family members. It’s just a fact of life.

To this day, my relationship with some family members is on ice. Part of the problem is that I failed to keep them happy and take care of others I needed to be paying attention to. I reached a breaking point that has caused a lot of pain on all sides. I’m not happy about it, but it’s how things have to be right now.

So when did I reach the moment of truth? It’s hard to pinpoint the exact moment. I don’t think there was one defining event. It was just a gradual realization that if I kept trying to please everyone, I wouldn’t be alive much longer. I would have had a complete breakdown and plunged into my addictions until they killed me with a heart attack or a blood clot to the brain.

To put it another way, this was a simple matter of survival.

If I’m trying to please every boss, friend or family member, I can’t be present for my wife and children. And I certainly can’t be present for God.

Of course, that realization doesn’t make it any easier to stop trying to please everyone. Obviously, even today, I’d much rather keep my bosses happy than piss them off. As for family, I’d still prefer we all got along.

But several things have made this easier.

Years of therapy have helped, because you’re forced to peel back every layer of every relationship by a trained professional who has absolutely no stake or relationship with the people in your life. A good therapist can look at your pain as objectively as if they were staring at a painting or watching a movie. There’s nothing personal at stake for them. And so they will cut through the crap and help you see what’s your fault and what isn’t.

The Prozac must have helped, because sometime in early 2007, when I first started taking the medicine, I stopped worrying about what my bosses would think of every move I made. It just sort of happened. But that doesn’t mean it’s a solution for every people pleaser. It just happened to work for me.

My former office mom, Anne Saita, certainly taught me that it’s better to stand up to people then to live life on your knees. Getting on your knees for God is right. Getting on your knees for a roomful of execs is wrong. Deadly wrong. Thanks for that lesson, Anne.

Whenever that moment of clarity was, I’ve found that the longer you go without being a people pleaser, the easier it gets.

You know why?

Because, it turns out, most of the people around you start like you much better when your nose isn’t cemented to their behinds.

I’m lucky in my current job because I work with some wonderful people. But I also think they appreciate it when I speak up and take the initiative. I take the initiative on things I AM PASSIONATE ABOUT. I do things based on my own sense of right and wrong, and it JUST HAPPENS TO FIT with what co-workers are feeling. Not all the time, but most of the time. Who knew?

When there’s disagreement, nobody gets hurt, because there’s still respect.

On the family side, I’ve learned to focus on the needs of my wife and kids before everyone else. These three people are my top priority, and keeping that in mind helps me to stay steady.

But perhaps the biggest thing is that I realized God comes first. When you become driven my that single belief, everything else falls into place.

It did for me, anyway.

To my friend: I’m not sure if that adequately addresses your question, but hopefully it helps all the same.

38 thoughts on “Why Being a People Pleaser is Dumb

  1. Pingback: Romney’s Lesson: When You Try To Be Someone Else, People Notice | THE OCD DIARIES

  2. Pingback: The Job Performance Review | THE OCD DIARIES

  3. Pingback: Hey, Mom, Read This | THE OCD DIARIES

  4. Pingback: Learn From My Mistakes | THE OCD DIARIES

  5. Pingback: Be Yourself, Even If People Hate You For It | THE OCD DIARIES

  6. Pingback: You Can’t Be Everyone’s Friend | THE OCD DIARIES

  7. Pingback: When Playing It Safe Makes Things Worse | THE OCD DIARIES

  8. Pingback: Hitting Bottom and Staying There | THE OCD DIARIES

  9. Pingback: You’ll Bitterly Disagree With Me Sometimes « THE OCD DIARIES

  10. Pingback: Back Story Of THE OCD DIARIES « THE OCD DIARIES

  11. Pingback: How Does He Work In Those Conditions? « THE OCD DIARIES

  12. Pingback: RSA 2005 (Fool in the Rain) « THE OCD DIARIES

  13. Pingback: I Surrendered, But I’ll Never Quit « THE OCD DIARIES

  14. Pingback: Learning To Be A Kid Again « THE OCD DIARIES

  15. Pingback: A Year in the Life « THE OCD DIARIES

  16. I forced myself into early retirement from my “dream job,” largely because I didn’t want to make the HR people have to wait on me to make a decision, both when I was signing the resignation papers for my old job and when answering the phone call offering me a new job (a “nightmare job” from which I was soon fired.) I should have made pleasing God and my family my first priority and made the HR people wait a few days while I made this life-changing decision. People-pleasing to this extreme can ruin your life and hurt an awful lot of other people you love. People prone to this malady should resolve not to be “ambushed” into making hasty decisions on life-changing matters when people-pleasing could have any kind of influence.

  17. Pingback: Maybe People Pleasing’s Not So Dumb After All | THE OCD DIARIES

  18. Pingback: Looking for Grace | THE OCD DIARIES

  19. Pingback: Gone Fishing (Sort Of) | THE OCD DIARIES

  20. Pingback: Surrender Does Not Mean Give Up | THE OCD DIARIES

  21. Bill, I hope more people will read your blog post regarding OCD. I think your take on the reality of what your were doing is brave and others can gain strength from your words. Keep up the great work.
    Celebrating You!

  22. Pingback: One of My Biggest Regrets | THE OCD DIARIES

  23. Pingback: Sometimes, You Gotta Cut Ties | THE OCD DIARIES

  24. Pingback: Friends Who Help You Heal, Part 2 | THE OCD DIARIES

  25. Pingback: Lessons of a Thirty-something | THE OCD DIARIES

  26. Pingback: Real Men (and Women) Ask for Help | THE OCD DIARIES

  27. Pingback: Hitting Bottom: Songs and Backstory « THE OCD DIARIES

  28. Pingback: The Brenners Invade The White House « THE OCD DIARIES

  29. Pingback: The OCD Diaries 5-2-10: Hitting Bottom « THE OCD DIARIES

  30. Pingback: The Rewards and Risk of Service: A Cautionary Tale « THE OCD DIARIES

  31. Pingback: Parental Overload: No Big Deal « THE OCD DIARIES

  32. Pingback: Scenes from the Airport « THE OCD DIARIES

  33. Pingback: Cool Things Afoot « THE OCD DIARIES

  34. Pingback: The Ugly, Somewhat Humorous History of Bill Brenner « THE OCD DIARIES

  35. Always nice after a really rough day to find someone who took my advice to heart. First time I think I heard that expression about it being better to live on your feet than die on your knees was in a U2 or Midnight Oil song. (See, it sometimes helps to branch out from heavy metal, Bill. :-)

  36. It’s funny Bill, I read “God comes first”, which I believe as well. For some reason, when I read it, I instantly thought of someone I know who believes that as well – but uses/used it as her reason to neglect her children. They spent many nights at home with Lord knows who (their dad was not around) while she was at church doing bible study, or volunteering, etc., taking care of everyone else except her children. They are adults now and I think 1 is in jail. While I think her commitment to God is one that she needed for many reasons, I look back at her non commitment to her kids – all 3 of them God’s children.

    Don’t know why I wanted to write that. I just had too.

Leave a Reply

