The Most Uncool Addiction

In this installment, the author opens up about the binge-eating disorder he tried to hide for years — and how he managed to bring it under control.

I don’t beat myself for having engaged in addictive behavior. That kind of thing is obvious for someone with OCD. If there’s a compulsion to be rubbed raw, you go for it, no matter how destructive it is on body and soul. Then you wake up the next day and do it again.

But on occasion I find myself wallowing in this question: “Why, oh why, couldn’t I be addicted to something more common like alcohol or heroin?”

Hell, many of the musicians, writers and political leaders who’ve inspired me drank to excess, smoked nonstop or even used needles.

Winston Churchill spent every waking hour of WW II buzzed. He dipped his cigars in brandy and port. Phil Lynott (Thin Lizzy) and Nikki Sixx (Motley Crue) almost made being a junkie look cool. It wasn’t cool, of course. But that’s how I think when under the haze.

In my case, the addiction is food, something we need to survive. It’s not the least bit cool. Certainly not a “normal” addiction.

That food would be my problem makes perfect sense. As a kid sick with Chron’s Disease much of the time, I was often in the hospital for weeks at a time with a feeding tube that was inserted through the left side of my chest. That’s how I got nourishment. I wasn’t allowed to eat or drink anything. At a very early age, my relationship with food was doomed to dysfunction.

It didn’t help that I was from a family of over-eaters who would stuff themselves for comfort in times of stress and fatigue.

In our society it’s considered perfectly OK to indulge in the food. Time and again, I’ve heard it said that overeating is a lot better than drinking or drugging. But for me, back when I was at my worst, binge eating was a secret, sinister and shameful activity.

Here’s how it works:

You get up in the morning and swear to God that you’re going to eat like a normal person. You pack some healthy food for the office. Then you get in the car and the trouble starts before the car’s out of the driveway. Another personality emerges from the back of the brain, urging you to indulge. It starts as a whisper but builds until it vibrates through the skull like a power saw.

The food calls out to you. And you’ll do whatever it takes to get it, then spend a lot of time trying to cover your tracks.

Before you know it, you’re in the DD drive-thru ordering two boxes of everything. It all gets eaten by the time you reach the office. You get to the desk disgusted, vowing to never do that again. But by mid-morning, the food is calling again. You sneak out before lunchtime and gorge on whatever else you can find, then you do it again on the way home from work.

You pull into McDonald’s and order about $30 of food, enough to feed four people. From the privacy of the car, the bags are emptied. By the time you get home, you wish you were dead.

The cycle repeats for days at a time, sometimes weeks and months.

For many years I hid it well, especially in my early 20s. I would binge for a week, then starve and work out for another week. That mostly kept the weight at a normal-looking level.

Call it athletic Bulimia.

In one inspired episode, I downed $30 of fast food a day for two weeks, then went a week eating nothing but Raisin Bran in the morning, then nothing but black coffee for the rest of the day. After the cereal, I’d work out for two hours straight.

In my mid-20s, once I started working for a living, I kept up the eating but couldn’t do the other things anymore. So my weight rose to 280. In the late 1990s I managed to drop 100 pounds and keep it off through periodic fasting.

Then I started to face down what would eventually be diagnosed as OCD, and I once again gave in to the food. The gloves were off.

The binging continued unabated for three years. The weight went back up to 260. I also started to run out of clever ways to mask over all the money I was spending on my habit. I was slick. I’d take $60 from the checking account and tell my wife it was for an office expense or some other seemingly legitimate thing. But she’s too smart to fall for that for long.

Then I discovered Over-eaters Anonymous (OA), a 12-step program just like AA, where the focus is on food instead of booze. I didn’t grasp it immediately. In fact, I thought everyone at these meetings were nuts. They were, of course, but so was I.

Thing is, I had reached a point in my learning to manage OCD where I was ready to face down the addiction. If it had to be through something crazy, so be it.

Through the program, I gave up flour and sugar. The plan is to be done with those ingredients for life. Put them together and they are essentially my cocaine. I dropped 65 pounds on the spot. But more importantly, many of the ailments I had went away. I stopped waking up in the middle of the night choking on stomach acid. The migraines lessened substantially. And I found a mental clarity I never knew before.

I can’t say I’ve slaughtered the demon. Addicts relapse all the time. But I have a program I didn’t have before; a road map unlike any other.

My odds of success are better than ever.

But before I could get there, I had to unravel the wiring in my head, learn to live with a mental disorder and then make a bold change in my way of eating.

It’s not cool at all. If you’re laughing because I let the food drag me to such a state, I don’t blame you. In a way, it is funny. Crazy people do stupid things. And stupid is often funny.

125 thoughts on “The Most Uncool Addiction

  1. Pingback: Fatherhood Saved Ozzy, Eddie & Me | THE OCD DIARIES

  2. Pingback: A Few Degrees South Of A Relapse | THE OCD DIARIES

  3. Pingback: Addicted to Feeling Good: A Love-Hate Story | THE OCD DIARIES

  4. Pingback: No Year’s Resolutions | THE OCD DIARIES

  5. Pingback: How To Play Addiction Like A Piano | THE OCD DIARIES

  6. Pingback: The Third Brother | THE OCD DIARIES

  7. Pingback: Have Fun With Your Therapist (A.K.A.: The Shrink Stigma) | THE OCD DIARIES

  8. Pingback: The OCD Diaries: Lessons From Dad | THE OCD DIARIES

  9. Pingback: Regulating Addictive Food: A Lesson in Futility | THE OCD DIARIES

  10. Pingback: OCD Diaries: The Liar’s Disease | THE OCD DIARIES

  11. Pingback: Selfish Bastard | THE OCD DIARIES

  12. Pingback: OCD Diaries 12-10: The Bad Pill Kept Me From The Good Pill | THE OCD DIARIES

  13. Pingback: The Freak and the Redhead: A Love Story | THE OCD DIARIES

  14. Pingback: The Better Angels of My Nature | THE OCD DIARIES

  15. Pingback: Was ‘Hunger Games’ Star Too Fat For The Role? | THE OCD DIARIES

  16. Pingback: sex facebook video

  17. Pingback: Screw You, Cardinal Egan | THE OCD DIARIES

  18. Pingback: Happily Ever After is Bullshit & That’s OK | THE OCD DIARIES

  19. Pingback: A Confession (Or Four) | THE OCD DIARIES

  20. Pingback: A H5N1 Case Study In Fear | THE OCD DIARIES

  21. Pingback: The Crazy-Ass Guy in the Newsroom | THE OCD DIARIES

  22. Pingback: The Ego OCD Built | THE OCD DIARIES

  23. Pingback: Yes, Virginia, There Is A Grinch | THE OCD DIARIES

  24. Pingback: Skinny Like A Fool | THE OCD DIARIES

  25. Pingback: THE OCD DIARIES, Two Years Later | THE OCD DIARIES

  26. Pingback: Is It Bad That Two Family Members Are In Therapy? | THE OCD DIARIES

  27. Pingback: Rockit Records Therapy Session | THE OCD DIARIES

  28. Pingback: The Bridge Rats of Point of Pines, Revere | THE OCD DIARIES

  29. Pingback: A Depressed Mind Is Rarely A Beaten Mind | THE OCD DIARIES

  30. Pingback: Eat This! How To Survive Sans Flour And Sugar | THE OCD DIARIES

  31. Pingback: Three Years (Almost) Clean | THE OCD DIARIES

  32. Pingback: Finish What You Started | THE OCD DIARIES

  33. Pingback: Paranoia Was My Destroyer | THE OCD DIARIES

  34. Pingback: Almost Forgiven, But Not Quite | THE OCD DIARIES

  35. Pingback: No Faith, No Recovery. Period | THE OCD DIARIES

  36. Pingback: A Clean Map to a Helpful OCD Diagnosis | THE OCD DIARIES

  37. Pingback: Debt Ceiling Debate Would’ve Killed Me A Few Years Ago | THE OCD DIARIES

  38. Pingback: I’m a Narcissist (And So Are You) | THE OCD DIARIES

  39. Pingback: Hitting Bottom and Staying There | THE OCD DIARIES

  40. Pingback: Killed By Fear (Doctor Phobia and the C Word) | THE OCD DIARIES

  41. Pingback: A Happy Memory From A Difficult Time | THE OCD DIARIES

  42. Pingback: The Problem With ‘One Day At A Time’ « THE OCD DIARIES

  43. Pingback: Back Story Of THE OCD DIARIES « THE OCD DIARIES

  44. Pingback: “Do Something Every Day That Scares You” « THE OCD DIARIES

  45. Pingback: Your Addiction Is Doing Push-ups « THE OCD DIARIES

  46. Pingback: When Does It Get Better? (A.K.A. Happiness After Suicide) « THE OCD DIARIES

  47. Pingback: Facebook Depression: It Happens « THE OCD DIARIES

  48. Pingback: Boston Rock: A History of Survival « THE OCD DIARIES

  49. Pingback: Mister Rogers’ Mother Was Right « THE OCD DIARIES

  50. Pingback: The Catholic In The Room « THE OCD DIARIES

  51. Pingback: Coffee With My Therapist, Part 2 « THE OCD DIARIES

  52. Pingback: The Most Infuriating Journalist I Ever loved « THE OCD DIARIES

  53. Pingback: Face the Music « THE OCD DIARIES

  54. Pingback: I Have A Bad Attitude « THE OCD DIARIES

  55. Pingback: The Love of My Life (A.K.A. Valentine’s Day Sucks) « THE OCD DIARIES

  56. Pingback: Never Trust a Sushi Place Built into a CVS « THE OCD DIARIES

  57. Pingback: Learning To Be A Kid Again « THE OCD DIARIES

  58. Pingback: Thinking is Not a Tool « THE OCD DIARIES

  59. Pingback: Message for a Young Friend « THE OCD DIARIES

  60. Pingback: Narcissism Inc. « THE OCD DIARIES

  61. Pingback: Death of a Sibling « THE OCD DIARIES

  62. Pingback: It’s a Disease, Not a Choice: Part 2 « THE OCD DIARIES

  63. Pingback: A Year in the Life « THE OCD DIARIES

  64. Pingback: Binge, Pray, Disgust « THE OCD DIARIES

  65. Pingback: The Confession « THE OCD DIARIES

  66. Pingback: The Diagnosis « THE OCD DIARIES

  67. Pingback: One Year Later « THE OCD DIARIES

  68. Pingback: OK to Live Again? « THE OCD DIARIES

  69. Pingback: How Marriage Saved Me « THE OCD DIARIES

  70. Pingback: The Joyless Happy Meal « THE OCD DIARIES

  71. Pingback: The Priest Who Failed, Part 2 « THE OCD DIARIES

  72. Pingback: The Priest Who Failed « THE OCD DIARIES

  73. Pingback: Why Halloween Doesn’t Scare Me Anymore | THE OCD DIARIES

  74. Pingback: Homeless Men, Inc. | THE OCD DIARIES

  75. Pingback: Out of the Closet, Into the Light | THE OCD DIARIES

  76. Pingback: Looking for Grace | THE OCD DIARIES

  77. Pingback: Gone Fishing (Sort Of) | THE OCD DIARIES

  78. Pingback: Debunking the Shrink Stigma | THE OCD DIARIES

  79. Pingback: Two Years Clean | THE OCD DIARIES

  80. Pingback: A Pastor Moves On | THE OCD DIARIES

  81. Pingback: Fear of the Fat Man’s Pants | THE OCD DIARIES

  82. Pingback: Wasted Worry | THE OCD DIARIES

  83. Pingback: You Think Too Much | THE OCD DIARIES

  84. Pingback: Stiffy | THE OCD DIARIES

  85. Pingback: Facebook ‘Un-friend’ Syndrome | THE OCD DIARIES

  86. Pingback: Dirty and Fried | THE OCD DIARIES

  87. Pingback: Lessons of a Thirty-something | THE OCD DIARIES

  88. Pingback: The Perils of Service, Part 2 | THE OCD DIARIES

  89. Pingback: And Then There Were Three | THE OCD DIARIES

  90. Pingback: Summertime Blues is a Punk | THE OCD DIARIES

  91. Pingback: The Love Story Continues (Happy Birthday, Erin) | THE OCD DIARIES

  92. Pingback: The Downward Spiral | THE OCD DIARIES

  93. Pingback: Emotions That Come from a Strange Place | THE OCD DIARIES

  94. Pingback: Others Who Fight the Stigma | THE OCD DIARIES

  95. Pingback: What the hell? My Manson Obsession Resurfaces | THE OCD DIARIES

  96. Pingback: The 12-Step Survival Guide of Life « THE OCD DIARIES

  97. Pingback: It’s a Disease, Not a Choice « THE OCD DIARIES

  98. Pingback: Pills Can’t Kill Pain at the Source « THE OCD DIARIES

  99. Pingback: Hitting Bottom: Songs and Backstory « THE OCD DIARIES

  100. Pingback: Prozac or Potatoes: Which is Better? « THE OCD DIARIES

  101. Pingback: The Fear of Current Events « THE OCD DIARIES

  102. Pingback: Peace With the Past « THE OCD DIARIES

  103. Pingback: Shakin’ the (Empty) Money Maker « THE OCD DIARIES

  104. Pingback: The OCD Diaries 5-2-10: Hitting Bottom « THE OCD DIARIES

  105. Pingback: Needles « THE OCD DIARIES

  106. Pingback: Somewhat Damaged « THE OCD DIARIES

  107. Pingback: Newsroom Nightmare: A Sequel « THE OCD DIARIES

  108. Pingback: Why the Cigars Must Go (and Why it Pisses Me Off) « THE OCD DIARIES

  109. Pingback: Bad Behavior, Easily Defined « THE OCD DIARIES

  110. Pingback: Meet My Demon « THE OCD DIARIES

  111. Pingback: The Priest Who Came Clean « THE OCD DIARIES

  112. Pingback: Like Father, Like Son « THE OCD DIARIES

  113. Pingback: The OCD Diaries, 4-5-10: RED BULL BLUES « THE OCD DIARIES

  114. Pingback: Pouring Gas on the Fire « THE OCD DIARIES

  115. Pingback: Now This Takes Me back « THE OCD DIARIES

  116. Pingback: Control Freak-out « THE OCD DIARIES

  117. Pingback: The Ugly, Somewhat Humorous History of Bill Brenner « THE OCD DIARIES

  118. Pingback: Forgiveness is a Bitch « THE OCD DIARIES

  119. Pingback: The Long Road Through Self Hatred « THE OCD DIARIES

  120. Pingback: Running from Sin, Running with Scissors « THE OCD DIARIES

  121. Pingback: Pain in the Lent « THE OCD DIARIES

  122. Pingback: Metal to Stick in Your Mental Microwave « THE OCD DIARIES

  123. Pingback: OCD Diaries: Sobriety vs. Abstinence « THE OCD DIARIES

  124. Pingback: OCD Diaries: The Engine in Hyperdrive « THE OCD DIARIES

  125. Pingback: OCD Diaries: The Basement « THE OCD DIARIES

Leave a Reply

